Home  Facebook  Twitter

 Home  Club Info  News  Fixtures  Results  Team  Reports  Gallery  Blogs  Stats  Live  Club Shop  Tickets  Contact
"BTS" Diamonds' find the going tough in Championship Fours
Sunday 1st July 2018, 21:33 UK
Photo: Steve Brock
The Redcar Bears hosted the SGB Championship Four Team Finals day on Sunday afternoon which say all 11 teams battle over 34 heats plus an extra run off for the prestigious title.

The opening qualification saw all sides line up over 22 heats, with the top four making the 12-heat final with the four team members taking two races each and Newcastle's Stuart Robson opened the Byker side's account in Heat One expertly holding out the Aussie International Rory Schlein of Ipswich to the flag for two points, a place behind Lakeside's Nick Morris who took the three.

Heat Five saw Ashley Morris fall when at the back of the heat, but quickly remounted only to retire on the third lap as Redcar's Thomas Jorgensen took the spoils ahead of Sheffield's Todd Kurtz.

Sheffield star Lasse Bjerre went from last to first on the opening two bends of Heat 10 relegating Diamonds' Matej Kus to second and Berwick's skipper Kevin Doolan to third leaving them no chance of returning the favour while Kus took couple out of Heat 15 behind Vissing.

Robson trailed in at the back of Heat 19 as Newcastle's chances of a final place had already dwindled as they ended up on Nine points.

The final was won by Peterborough (22) ahead of Edinburgh (19), Glasgow (17) and Lakeside on 14.

Newcastle's scores:

1. Stuart Robson 2, 0 = 2
2. Ashley Morris R, 2 = 2
3. Tero Aarnio 2, 1 = 3
4. Matej Kus 2, 0 = 2
Reserve: Matthew Wethers Did not ride
Last Updated: Sun 01 Jul 2018, 21:40 UK
Happy New Year 2019
Martin Phillips gives his thoughts on 2019
Happy Christmas from the Diamonds!
Danny's Back With A Point To Prove
Danny Phillips and Lasse Bjerre make the 2019 Diamonds ready to race!
 BTS  Teen Print  Steve Brock Photography
Newcastle Speedway
Newcastle Stadium
Newcastle upon Tyne
Tel  0191 265 6581
BSPA Averages
Matthew Wethers


Nike Lunna


Max Clegg


Thomas Jorgensen


Victor Palovaara


Danny Phillips


Lasse Bjerre


© Copyright Newcastle Speedway 2016 Site Design by Ko Creative