Home  Facebook  Twitter

 Home  Club Info  News  Fixtures  Results  Team  Reports  Gallery  Blogs  Stats  Live  Club Shop  Tickets  Contact
Fixture alterations on site now
Tero does the Diamonds proud, but misses the semis - just!
Sunday 2nd September 2018, 20:35 UK
Photo: Steve Brock
Having escaped serious injury last Thursday, Tero Aarnio took the place of Stuart Robson in the SGB Championship Riders Final.
SGB Championship Riders' Individual Final
(Owlerton Stadium)
1st Craig Cook, 2nd Richard Lawson, 3rd Kyle Howarth, 4th Erik Riss

The Newcastle "BTS" Diamonds were represented at yesterday's SGB Championship Riders' Individual Finals at the Sheffield Tigers' Owlerton Stadium, with the Diamonds having to put into place a late change for the injured Stuart Robson as Finish star, Tero Aarnio stepped up to the plate, the latter saying it was the biggest honour in his 10 years racing in the UK.

Having escaped serious injury on Thursday night at Redcar, Aarnio came out in Heat One against Redcar's Ben Barker, ironically also involved in that same crash, Peterborough's Michael Palm Toft and Charles Wright of home team Sheffield, but from the gate Aarnio found himself stuck at the rear where he remained to the flag.

Aarnio then lined up in Heat Eight without tape-excluded Steve Worrall of Scunthorpe and the 2-minute excluded Ricky Wells from Edinburgh, but found Glasgow's Craig Cook too hard a prospect as he took a comfortable second over reserve Kyle Bickley.

The little Finn was visibly upping his game come Heat 12 when he held out the speedy Howarth into third to take second behind Ty Proctor of Workington to move on to four points from three rides, and then won Heat 16 despite a massive last lap charge from Auty who over did it, going for a gap that wasn't there and high-sided it, crashing to the ground allowing Kevin Doolan through for second and Aarnio the win.

With one ride left each, Aarnio and Berwick's Aaron Summers were on seven a piece and as they met in Heat 20 it remained to be seen if either could win that race, take three points, and sneak into the semi final by the skin of their teeth, and in that crunch heat going into bend one Aarnio took up the lead ahead of Summers with Riss in third, but the Edinburgh star hit the gas hard and rode the boards perfectly to shoot round from third to first, taking up a big lead and putting himself into the semi, Aarnio missing out by one, and Summers by two points ending their nights.

Cook won the semi over Riss, putting both into the final as Wright and Proctor missed out while Riss took a last in the final won by new Champion Craig Cook who took the gold over silver Lawson and bronze Howarth.

Newcastle team manager George English said: "We couldn't have been more proud of Tero's racing today after such a very late call-up and after his arm injury on Thursday and as a mark of his loyalty and love of racing for the Diamonds, I can tell you he is unconsolably upset at missing out. He really wanted this and his passion was extreme. He deserved more for his efforts."

Individual Riders' Score Chart (qualification rides - Programme order)

1. Michael Palm Toft (Peterborough) 2,1,0,1,1 = 5
2. Charles Wright (Sheffield) 3,3,2,0,1 = 9
3. Ben Barker (Redcar) 1,0,3,2,2 = 8
4. Tero Aarnio (Newcastle) 0,2,2,3,2 = 9
5. Aaron Summers (Berwick) 2,2,0,3,1 = 8
6. Kevin Doolan (Berwick) 0,0,1,2,0 = 3
7. Richard Lawson (Lakeside) 3,3,0,3,2 = 11
8. Ricky Wells (Edinburgh) 1,N2,1,2,2 = 6
9. Nico Covatti (Ipswich) 0,0,0,1,0 = 1
10. Ty Proctor (Workington) 2,1,3,Fx,3 = 9
11. Erik Riss (Edinburgh) 3,1,3,1,3 = 11
12. Craig Cook (Glasgow) 1,3,3,R,3 = 10
13. Kyle Howarth (Sheffield) 3,3,1,3,1 = 11
14. Scott Nicholls (Peterborough) 0,2,2,2,0 = 6
15. Josh Auty (Scunthorpe) 2,2,1,F,Ns = 5
16. Steve Worrall (Scunthorpe) 1,E,2,1,3 = 7

Reserve Kyle Bickley (Workington) 1,0 = 1
Last Updated: Mon 03 Sep 2018, 09:48 UK
BTS Diamonds miss out on the Fours' Final at Peterborough
Teen Print Gems' Archie Freeman and Danny Smith face two tough meetings in a many days.
BTS Diamonds ready to battle in Sunday's Four's Finals
Fixture news
Diamonds just miss out on a league point at Birmingham
 BTS  Teen Print  Steve Brock Photography
Newcastle Speedway
Newcastle Stadium
Newcastle upon Tyne
Tel  0191 265 6581
BSPA Averages
Steve Worrall


Thomas Jorgensen


Lasse Bjerre


Matthew Wethers


Simon Lambert


Max Clegg


Danny Phillips


© Copyright Newcastle Speedway 2016 Site Design by Ko Creative