Home  Facebook  Twitter

 Home  Club Info  News  Fixtures  Results  Team  Reports  Gallery  Blogs  Stats  Live  Club Shop  Tickets  Contact
BTS Diamonds struggle to make an impact at Eastbourne
Saturday 8th June 2019, 21:43 UK
Photo: Steve Brock
It was 7th vs. 9th at the Arlington Raceway, home of the Eastbourne Eagles when the Newcastle "Boiler Technical Services" Diamonds took to their shale last night with a win for the home side projecting the Eagles to leapfrog the Diamonds in the SGB Championship League table.​
Eastbourne Eagles 59
Newcastle "Boiler Technical Services" Diamonds 31
SGB Championship​

Steve Worrall made the fastest gate in Heat One, but by the end of the second bend both the hugely-fast Richard Lawson whipped hard under the Diamond closely followed by Ben Morley in a home maximum while Dany Phillips fell on the second bend of the second lap in Heat Two forcing a re-run with his exclusion, in which new Diamond Jacob Bukhave made the gate and held the lead to half way through lap four when Georgie Wood took him decisively in the home 4-2.​

With the score at 9-3, two former Newcastle Diamonds, Lewis Kerr and Kyle Newman hit hard with another home 5-1 over Lasse Bjerre and Matthew Wethers, the Diamonds' Dane pushing Newman to the end, but Newcastle now found themselves 10 points adrift.​

Wood shed a change in Heat Four and fell at the start of the second lap, bringing it to a halt with a re-run without Wood called, and at the second ask, Edward Kennett had no trouble in taking the three points from Thomas Jorgensen with Phillips at the back in a shared 3-3, holding the gap at 10.​

Worrall fell foul of the referee at the start of Heat Five, jumping the start and was warned before the re-run, which was stopped again with an all four call back after Newman and Worrall came together, both falling on the opening lap, while eventually Worrall took the race by the scruff of the neck to win well over both Eagles in a shared heat before Lawson took Heat Six with ease with Morley taking second over Jorgensen and Bukhave with the score now 25-11.​

Worrall came in for Bukhave as a tactical substitute, but was headed home from the gate by Kerr in a well spread 4-2 taking the score line to 36-18 with the writing well and truly on the wall for the traveling Diamonds.​

Following a Heat 10 3-3, Worrall made a blinder of a start in Heat 11 and had to fend off Kenneth until the Eagle made an error on bends three and four of the third lap leaving the Diamond for the three points, but with Clegg at the rear the 3-3 took the score to 42-24, and with only four heats remaining the damage was done with Eastbourne guaranteed the Championship win.​

Team manager George English said: "Eastbourne had a dodgy start to the season, but now they're settling back into the second level of speedway, a level they excelled at in years gone by, they are starting to perform like the Eagles of old, and that means any visitor to this track will find the going tough, as we did tonight. So we'll put this down to experience and move onwards, and all being well upwards."​

Individual Riders' Score Chart:

Eastbourne Eagles: 59

1 Richard Lawson 3,3,3,2*,2* = 13+2
2 Ben Morley 2*,2*,1,0 = 5+2
3 Kyle Newman 2*,1*,1,2 =6+2
4 Lewis Kerr 3,2,3,3 = 11
5 Edward Kennett 3,3,1*,3,3 = 13+1
6 Alfie Bowtell (r) 1,0,E,1*,1 = 3+1
7 Georgie Wood (r) 3,Fx,2,2 = 7

Newcastle "Boiler Technical Services" Diamonds 31

1 Steve Worrall (c) 1,3,2,3,1, Fx = 10
2 Max Clegg 0,0,2,0 = 2
3 Lasse Bjerre 1,2,1*,3,1 = 8+1
4 Matthew Wethers 0,1,2,2 = 5
5 Thomas Jorgensen 2,1,0,0 = 3
6 Jacob Bukhave 2,0,Ts,F,0 = 2
7 Danny Phillips Fx,1*,0,N = 1+1
Last Updated: Sat 08 Jun 2019, 21:54 UK
Worrall and Bjerre miss out on Pairs glory
Skipper Worrall hits best form of season to lead Diamonds to good win over Bears
Local derby action v. Redcar Bears tonight at 6.30pm
BTS Diamonds take their first away league point of the season at Sheffield
Diamonds back on the road to Sheffield tonight.
 BTS  Teen Print  Steve Brock Photography
Newcastle Speedway
Newcastle Stadium
Newcastle upon Tyne
Tel  0191 265 6581
BSPA Averages
Steve Worrall


Thomas Jorgensen


Lasse Bjerre


Matthew Wethers


Simon Lambert


Max Clegg


Danny Phillips


© Copyright Newcastle Speedway 2016 Site Design by Ko Creative