Home  Facebook  Twitter

 Home  Club Info  News  Fixtures  Results  Team  Reports  Gallery  Blogs  Stats  Live  Club Shop  Tickets  Contact
Workington Comets v Newcastle Diamonds
Saturday 9th September 2017, 13:51 UK
The Newcastle Sapphire Engineering Diamonds produced a superb all-round team effort to take a well deserved draw at Workington.

All The Diamonds contributed crucial points as their improved away performances of the recent few weeks continued enabling them to take two Championship points from a thrilling encounter at Derwent Park.

The individual glory may well have gone to Guest Chris Harris and Stevie Worrall in particular for their fabulous 5 - 1 in Heat 13 over Craig Cook that got them back level with two races to go.

Skipper Ludvig Lindgren then came up with his best ride of the night to win Heat 14 leaving the teams level at 42 - 42 going in to the last heat decider. With Harris and Worrall in that final race, Newcastle hoped for a repeat of the race that had taken place two heats earlier.

Harris made a fabulous gate and was away and clear but terrific team-riding by Cook and Ty Proctor somehow kept Worrall at the back meaning the scores were level on the night after 15 pulsating heats of speedway.

This was a terrific effort from all The Diamonds who were never ahead in the meeting. Falling behind after a Heat 3 maximum for The Comets by Matt Williamson and Proctor, they were still those four points down going in to that heat 13.

That's when Harris and Worrall struck and set up a thrilling finale to a fine meeting that neither side deserved to lose and in the end didn't.

Newcastle : Chris Harris 11 + 1 (5), Steve Worrall 11 (5), Ashley Morris 6 + 3 (4), Ludvig Lindgren 6 + 1 (4), Stuart Robson 6 + 1 (4), Ben Hopwood 3 + 1 (4), Alfie Bowtell 2 + 1 (4
Last Updated: Sun 10 Sep 2017, 13:52 UK
Newcastle Diamonds v
Glasgow Tigers
Sun 5 August 2018,  @ 6:30pm UK

Sunday 8th July 2018





SGB Championship Knock Out Cup

 BTS  Teen Print  Steve Brock Photography
Newcastle Speedway
Newcastle Stadium
Newcastle upon Tyne
Tel  0191 265 6581
BSPA Averages
Ludvig Lindgren


Stuart Robson


Ashley Morris


Tero Aarnio


Matej Kus


Carl Wilkinson


Matthew Wethers


© Copyright Newcastle Speedway 2016 Site Design by Ko Creative