Home  Facebook  Twitter

 Home  Club Info  News  Fixtures  Results  Team  Reports  Gallery  Blogs  Stats  Live  Club Shop  Tickets  Contact
Newcastle Diamonds v Redcar Bears
Sunday 22nd October 2017, 22:30 UK
Following a brief break for track grading, in which Steve Worrall was presented with the 2017 Newcastle Speedway Diamond of the Year as voted for by the fans by a significant percentage of the vote, the second match got under way with the side that had previously provided the Diamonds with their best meeting of 2017, the local rivals, the Redcar Bear, although due to an horrendous run of injury and unexpected holidays, the Bears were full of five guests and a rider replacement with only skipper Jonas B. Andersen as the sole original 2017 Bear.
Newcastle "Sapphire Engineering Diamonds" 48
Redcar "SG Petch Bears" 41
SGB Championship

The match opened in identical fashion as the first battle with a home 5-1 in the opening race followed by a shared 3-3 won by Ma Clegg over Ben Hopwood and Alfie Bowtell taking the score to 8-4 before Ludvig Lindgren shot to the front of Heat Three, but in a change of script Stuart Robson made an error on bend two ending up and the back but managed to race back into third place ahead of Jonas B. Andersen for a 4-2.

Lindgren's first defeat, in either match, came in Heat Five when he made a sluggish gate to end up at the rear but hauled back to third roaring up behind Aaron Summers but couldn't manage the pass n a 4-2 that moved the score on to 19-11, and following s 3-3 in the sixth won by Lambert, Summers took his first win over Worrall as Hopwood bit the dust in third on the second bend to halt the race and win himself an exclusion as the result was awarded a Bears' 2-4 narrowing Newcastle's lead to six points.

Lindgren and Auty engaged in a superb couple of laps to open Heat Nine with the pair passing and repassing, but t was the Diamond skipper who excelled to take the flag in a 4-2 before Sarjeant and Andersen gated ahead of Lambert and Morris in Heat 10 to jet away on a 1-5 but Lambert, then Morris passed Andersen but in an attempt to pass Sarjeant, Lambert went too fast and too wide falling into the third bend fence, causing the race to be awarded a 2-4 with Lambert's exclusion after he hobbled back to the pits after aggravating his knee injury, with the scores now 33-27.

An amazing Heat 12 saw firstly Bowtell fall on bend two, followed by Robson doing likewise on bend three, but both got back on their bikes to finish the race as an easy 1-5 to Sarjeant and Andersen taking the score to 38-34 before Worrall and Lambert, nursing his knee, shot out of the traps in Heat 13 to take an easy 5-1 over Summers, and with the score at 43-35, Redcar needed two 1-5s to draw the match, but with a fine sweep from Lindgren in Heat 14, to pass Andersen off bend two, the 3-3 was all it needed to seal a second win of the day for the Diamonds who closed their season on a high.

In the final heat, an eventual 2-3, hearts were in fans mouth when Lindgren's chain snapped in a flourish of sparks in the first bend causing him to be thrown like a rag doll into the fence, but he got back to his feet and walked back to the pits, but in the re-run Auty too took a heavy fall and was excluded with the race result awarded.

Still in high spirits after the meeting skipper Ludvig said: "The fall was a big one, but I wanted to go out of this season with a bang, and I think I managed it!"

Team manager George English said: "Two great wins signed us out of 2017 very nicely with some great performances, and now the hard work begins as I can't say we are or are not running in 2018, but the bias is in favour of the Diamonds coming back to the tapes in 2018, but at this stage we cannot confirm either way. Hopefully we can make an announcement in the next couple of weeks or so."

Individual Riders' Score Chart

Newcastle "Sapphire Engineering Diamonds" 48

Robert Lambert 3,3,Fx,2* = 8+1
Ashley Morris 2*,F,3,2 = 7+1
Stuart Robson 1,3,1,R = 5
Ludvig Lindgren (c) 3,1,3,3,Fx = 10
Steve Worrall 3,2,3,3,2 = 13
Ben Hopwood (r) 1*,Fx,1,0 = 2+1
Alfie Bowtell (r) 2,0,Fx,1 = 3

Redcar "SG Petch Bears" 41

Aaron Summers (guest) 1,2,3,2,1,3 = 12
David Wallinger (NL Guest) 0,0,N,0 = 0
Charles Wright - Rider replacement
Jonas B. Andersen (c) 0,1,1,2*,2 = 6+1
Josh Auty (guest) 2,1*,2,2,Fx = 7+1
Max Clegg (guest) (r) 3,1*,1*,0,N = 5+2
James Sarjeant (guest) (r) R,2,2,3,3,1* = 11+1
Gavin Parr - Did not ride
Last Updated: Sun 22 Oct 2017, 22:31 UK
Season 2019
Mon 1 April 2019,  @ 6:30pm UK

Sunday 16th September 2018





SGB Championship

 BTS  Teen Print  Steve Brock Photography
Newcastle Speedway
Newcastle Stadium
Newcastle upon Tyne
Tel  0191 265 6581
BSPA Averages
Matthew Wethers


Nike Lunna


Max Clegg


Thomas Jorgensen


Victor Palovaara


Danny Phillips


Lasse Bjerre


© Copyright Newcastle Speedway 2016 Site Design by Ko Creative