Home  Facebook  Twitter

 Home  Club Info  News  Fixtures  Results  Team  Reports  Gallery  Blogs  Stats  Live  Club Shop  Tickets  Contact
Redcar Bears v Newcastle Diamonds
Friday 11th October 2019, 21:52 UK
The biggest night in the Newcastle "Boiler Technical Services" Diamonds 2019 season hit the track last night in the Knockout Cup Final, with added local derby spice at the Redcar Bears in the opening leg (deciding leg set for Brough Park on Sunday at 6.30pm), and conditions were excellent with a packed stadium ready for action.
Redcar "Agilia" Bears 51
Newcastle "Boiler Technical Services" Diamonds 39
SGB Championship Knockout Cup Final First Leg

Newcastle's brief was simply if the win wasn't possible, to keep it tight in readiness for the second leg on Tyneside, and with tensions running high Heat One was stopped and called back with Steve Worrall warned for moving at the start, and in the re-run Charles Wright shot from the gate to win over Worrall in the home 4-2.

Heat Two started out as a 4-2 as well, led by Nathan Greaves over Danny Phillips, but at the back Max Clegg found some drive and passed Tom Woolley at the end of the first lap to turn the heat in to a shared 3-3, the same as the third as Bears' guest Jake Allen passed first Matthew Wethers and then Lasse Bjerre too with the scores now 10-8.

Ulrich Ostergaard split the Bear's heat Four pairing of Erik Riss and Greaves, but with Phillips falling at the back the 4-2 put Redcar two more points ahead, 14-10, but with Allen relegating both Bjerre and Worrall to the rear, and with Jordan Stewart leading, the home maximum 5-1 pushed the Redcar lead to 19-11, which moved on to 10 points after Wright's second win in Heat Six ahead of Ostergaard as Kasper Andersen passed Clegg for a point.

Finally the Diamonds took three points for a heat winner in the form of Ostergaard in Heat Nine after a great battle with Allen, the pair passing and re-passing throughout, and with Stewart keeping Clegg at the back, the shared 3-3 held the gap at 10 points, and with Bjerre taking inspiration in the 10th and taking the win ahead of the hard-chasing Wright who had relegated Wethers to third in the 2-4 as the gap reduced to eight points.

However following two more 3-3s shares Riss and Wright soared round Worrall to hit home a Bears' 5-1 giving them victory on the night with two heats to go with the score at 45-33, but stop the gap getting bigger, Wethers won Heat 14 well over Stewart to share the heat 3-3, while the final race ended a win for Worrall over Wright and Riss holding Bjerre in another 3-3 ending the night 51-39, and the Final set on a knife-edge for Sunday's second leg.

Team manager George English said: "It was a bit of a rollercoaster of a meeting tonight, and looked at one stage as if Redcar were getting a grip and running away with things, but thankfully our resolve kicked in to hold back the rush and we held them to only a 12 point gap which could have been more, and that means Sunday's second leg is going to be a superb encounter between two local sides gunning for national, and local glory. It really is a match not to miss at any cost!"

That second leg is at Brough Park on Sunday at 6.30pm.

Individual Riders' Scores:

Redcar "Agilia" Bears 51

1 Charles Wright 3,3,2,2*,2 = 12+1
2 Kasper Andersen 1,1,3,0 = 5
3 Jake Allen (guest) 3,2*,2,3 = 10+1
4 Jordan Stewart 0,3,1,2 = 6
5 Erik Riss 3,3,3,3,1* = 13+1
6 Tom Woolley (r) 0,0,0,N = 0
7 Nathan Greaves (r) 3,1,0,0,1 = 5

Newcastle "Boiler Technical Services" Diamonds 39

1 Steve Worrall 2,0,2,1,3 = 8
2 Thomas Jorgensen - Rider replacement
3 Lasse Bjerre 2,1,1*,3,2*,0 = 9+2
4 Matthew Wethers 1*,2,1,1*,3 = 8+2
5 Ulrich Ostergaard 2,2,2,3,0 = 9
6 Max Clegg (r) 0,1*,0,0,1 = 2+1
7 Danny Phillips (r) 2,F,1,0 = 3
Last Updated: Fri 11 Oct 2019, 21:53 UK
Newcastle Diamonds v
To Be Confirmed
, UK

Sunday 16th September 2018





SGB Championship

 BTS  Teen Print  Steve Brock Photography
Newcastle Speedway
Newcastle Stadium
Newcastle upon Tyne
Tel  0191 265 6581
BSPA Averages
Steve Worrall


Thomas Jorgensen


Lasse Bjerre


Matthew Wethers


Simon Lambert


Max Clegg


Danny Phillips


© Copyright Newcastle Speedway 2016 Site Design by Ko Creative